Walkersville United Methodist Church
Saturday, December 16, 2017
 About Our Church
 
 
The church began in 1805-06 as a small Wesleyan fellowship meeting in the house of Enoch Umstead.
In 1817 the Israel Creek Meeting House of the Methodist Episcopal Church was erected near the small cemetery at the intersection of Route 194 and Devilbiss Bridge Road.
 
1830 saw the opening of the Retreat Road School. The teacher, Peter Kemp, held prayer and class meetings on Sundays. The United Brethren Church in Walkersville was thus established.
 
The Israel Creek Meeting House was destroyed by fire in 1855 and was rebuilt on the same site. On Christmas Day 1857 the Georgetown Chapel of the United Brethren Church was dedicated.
In 2017 we will be celebrating our 200 Anniversary. We invite you to join us on Sunday morning for a great worship experience. We have 3 services...8:15, 9:30, 11:00 am.
For more information on the history of Walkersville UMC, please click the links below.
Visit our Facebook page for other links and information about the church.
 

 
 
 
 
 

In the Event of an Emergency, Please Contact:
Pastor Richard Baker 

@ 443-375-9556